Luna Bars, pinterest + 6 months

One thing that I am guilty of is that I love power bars. I think they are a great on the go eat and easy to grab. My favorite two are Power Bar Harvest (the Toffee Chip flavor) and Luna Bars in Nutz Over Chocolate, Cookies and Cream, Smores – I love almost every flavor. When I was googling homemade clif z bars I came across a recipe for Homemade Luna Bars, and bookmarked it on pinterest (my latest obsession) to make at some point.

Well this morning at the gym I worked pretty hard in spin class. This goes back to last Thursday – when I decided to spin for 2 days in a row, and after everyone else was off their bikes, I was still on mine trying to get to 45 minutes. I just like to compare my times! 43:50 isn’t going to do it for me! So I’m on my bike spinning, and the instructor comes up to tell me that I’m not working hard enough. I didn’t know if he was joking, or if he meant that since I was still on the bike pedaling, clearly I didn’t work hard enough in his class. I just explained I was trying to make it to 45 minutes even.  After that I thought about it (a little too much) and I was kind of offended and questioning if I am working hard in the spin class, so today I made sure that I was working! These classes are REALLY good – and I thought the Y classes were good, but these are much, much better. Instead of doing a hill, then break, then sprints, then break.. it all flows. We’ll do a flat road but keep the cadence at a certain point, so that your heart rate stays up. And right from the flat road to the hills. Everyone is sweating and it’s a great workout.  Anyway, I worked hard today for sure. And when I went to get on the treadmill after that (as I have been doing), my body was not interested. My legs were too tired and my whole body just felt like it was done for the day. I did a half mile then tried the elliptical but I had the same feeling, so I left! And I remembered the farmer’s market was open so I went to get some fresh fruits and veggies, then got home in time to make some Luna Bars – I was starving!!

Nutz Over Chocolate Luna Bars – by Katie

  • 3 cups rice crispies
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sticky sweetener, such as agave or brown rice syrup (I used 1/2 hony and 1/2 brs)
  • 2 T protein powder (you can omit)
  • melted chocolate chips or Amazing Grass chocolate superfood + coconut oil and pb

Mix your pb, sweetener, extract, and salt. Melt (either in the microwave or stove), then pour over the cereal and powder, and stir very well, making sure to coat all the crispies.  Some of these were dry and I did cut back on the pb, so maybe I’d add more next time.  Line a 8 x 8 pan with wax paper and spread the mixture evenly into the pan. Place a sheet of wax paper on top of the mixture, then press down as firmly as you can. Spread the chocolate on top, and freeze for at least a half hour before slicing. I refrigerated it. Since I used coconut oil + the amazing grass + pb, it was too liquidy and seeped through the entire bar. Don’t get me wrong though – this was good!  They do fall apart a little bit – store them in the fridge for sure. I think the chocolate bottom would hold them together better. Now I want to try a samoa version (chocolate +coconut).

I’m officially 6 months pregnant today (and 27 weeks!) I was able to run yesterday – much better than last week, but now I’m just feeling huge and uncomfortable and the pressure to pee is getting worse and worse.  With the great weather we had, I snuck in a bonus OUTSIDE run in the afternoon while my cousin was here watching the kids.  First time I’ve ran outside in such a long time – I can feel how slow I really am outside, but it still felt so nice to be running out there.

6 months

* heart burn

* trouble getting to sleep at night (even though I’m getting 5-6 hrs of sleep because I can’t fall asleep ahh)

* wake up at 5am with tons of energy

* no middle of the night bathroom trips

* emotional & irrational

Monday – short lifting workout – my body needed rest and I slept in
Tuesday – TRX and 5+ miles running total (2.6 and 2.4 separately)
Wednesday – Spin 16.3 miles, under a mile jogging and 10 minutes elliptical
Thursday – lifting
Friday – maybe try to swim?
Saturday -attempt a longer run

I could see myself cutting out the running soon, but I’m nervous to do that because I really want to do Broad Street! I’m also sad I’m so far out of pool shape because it would be great to get a triathlon in before the season ends this year.  I think I’d be strong on the bike!

Last night I made a heart barrette for Kara – she will NEVER keep the thing in – but I found them on pinterest, they are so cute!! And I used a needle and thread, I would wreck something this small if I attempted to sew it.  After I had Nick, I said I wanted 4 boys, but I love having a girl!

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Luna Bars, pinterest + 6 months

  1. Laura

    Ahhh! Stop posting good recipes, I’m so behind! :) These look awesome… and I’m craving chocolate and sweets like crazy since L’s party and cake and ice cream on Sunday. Congrats on 6 months, too!

  2. I’m addicted to Luna bars! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Now if I can just find one to replace the 5 peppermint stick ones that I eat a week I’ll be all set! :)

  3. Angela K.

    I am so impressed that you always make whatever food it is you like. I always figure that if I can buy it there’s no need to make it. And for some reason I can’t comment on your blog from my iPad but I totally get your post about being bi-polar and trying to decide if working or staying at home is the right choice. I have this battle ALL THE TIME.

  4. chari

    I don’t think I have ever had a lara bar but I bought puffed cereal a while back and my order of brown rice syrup just came in yesterday so now I can make something like this! I’m starting weight watchers tomorrow so I’ll have to do some figuring and see about the points, but at least it will be a good snack for Ethan anyway.

    I’m probably the only one who thinks the instructor was out of line telling you weren’t working hard enough. You are 6 months pregnant!!! In fact, you’d think common sense would tell him to leave you alone so you don’t over do it and then it would be his fault!! I’d like to see him work out as hard as you do when you are pregnant!!

  5. chari

    I finally made them! I did the 1/2 cup PB, 1/2 cup brs, puffed kumat cereal and 1/3 cup melted chocolate chips. SO good!! I made them into 12 bars and ending up being 4 PP (weight watcher points) per bar. Not sure anyone that follows your blog does ww though lol

  6. Pingback: Speedwork and WIAW | Mommy, run fast!

  7. Pingback: Whole wheat bread, papertowels & vegan month | Lil Runner

  8. Pingback: Speedwork and WIAW |

I love to hear your thoughts, write away!

