Quinoa Burgers & 33 weeks

This week for one of the dinners I tried this recipe for quinoa burgers. I ended up doubling the recipe and it was kind of disastrous in the food processor – just way too much to process and I had to do it in batches. I used chia for the egg and it was a very dry batter but it stayed together and I think I could use these in place of dr praegers for a bit! I served it on a bed of spinach with hummus and cream cheese (yeah, it wasn’t vegan).

QUINOA BURGERS - Can you stay for dinner? – VEGAN (20 sliders)

  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 4 scallions, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 15 ounces can black beans, drained and rinsed (or 1/2 black beans and 1/2 edamame)
  • 1/4 cup Italian seasoned dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 chia egg or flax egg (1 T chia + 1/4 c warm water, let sit till gels)
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

In a small pot, bring 3/4 cup water to a boil. Add quinoa, cover, and reduce heat to low. Cook until liquid is absorbed, 12 to 14 minutes; set aside.

In a food processor, pulse carrot until finely chopped. Add cooked quinoa, scallions, garlic, beans, breadcrumbs, chia egg, cumin, salt, and pepper; pulse until combined but still slightly chunky.

Form mixture into four patties. In a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium; cook burgers until browned, about 8 minutes per side. Doubling this recipe and making them slider size made about 20 patties!

33 weeks –

Emotionally -
hmm the weeks just get longer and I feel more miserable and uncomfortable each week. This week I just feel lazy and uncomfortable. I can make it through a tough morning workout but then the rest of the day I’m useless and tired.  With Nick, I felt invincible. With Kara, I felt like this around 35-36 weeks. At this point, I feel like my excuse for everything is “I’m pregnant.”
No, I’m not getting up to deal with Nick crying in the middle of the night – I’m pregnant.
No, I can’t do the dishes -  I’m pregnant
No, I don’t feel like doing that today- I’m pregnant

I’m telling it like it is and brutally honest with people.  One night I was complaining to Bill about why the TV makes a noise when you turn it on. I’m not that pleasant to be around.  I have days where I can handle where we are currently living and days where I want to punch my fist into the wall :)

 I’m pretty much still in denial that another baby is going to be in our house, but I just can’t wait to not have limitations or feel like sitting down all the time so I am sure I will be welcoming when this baby is on the outside.

Up until about last week, I was still holding up some thoughts for having one more child after this – I always wanted 4. After this week, all I feel is that I cannot do this again and I’m done!

Physically – I feel like I’m getting punched from the inside. My stomach is constantly moving and pushing out in random spots.
Running is still going well. I stopped with Kara at 34 weeks and made it to 38 weeks/the end with Nick (that is when I had him at 38 weeks).  I think I will make it close to the end, but you never know.  I’m still doing TRX, spin and swim.

I can’t eat a lot at one time.  Small meals. I am having heartburn again no matter what I eat.

I’m sleeping pretty well at night once I fall asleep but it takes a while to get comfortable. If I wake up in the middle of the night, it takes me a very long time to get back to sleep.  My sleeping hours are about 10pm – 5am.

Food – would love homemade tortilla chips, black beans and sour cream.

Weird eye thing – I’ve been having the weird vision issue every now and then – it lasts about 10 min and I can’t see well out of my right eye. It’s blurry.

Trouble breathing!

Everytime I stand up – I have to pee. The bladder is getting smaller and smaller for sure.

#1 – Nick

#2 – Kara – no pic but similar feelings physically

STATS

Monday – Spin (15 miles/45:30), Run 3 miles (35:18/11:46 pace)
Tuesday – TRX, Run 4 miles split up (11:30 average pace)
Wednesday – Swim! 3650 yds
Thursday – TRX, Spin (14.65 miles/44 min)
Friday – Run 4+ miles (4.28/50 min/11:41 pace), afternoon – 1.5 miles (20 min/13:34 pace- tons of pressure)

7 Comments

Filed under 33 weeks

7 responses to “Quinoa Burgers & 33 weeks

  1. Shell

    Have you thought of omitting the egg and adding a banana for binding the quinoa burgers? I will try this for sure!
    Baby number three. I am in denial
    Too. It feels like it’s been a
    Decade size I was pregnant. You really do forget how uncomfortable it makes you. Do you need anything?

  2. Kaz

    Awww hun – you are pregnant and as far as i’m concerned it is a valid reason for not getting up in the night etc…. It takes that blooming long to roll out of bed and find your balance as your bp hits your toes, your other half could have been in and re-settled nick/kara and be back in bed by the time you’ve managed to get into their room! It’s for such a short time relatively – accept the help/insist on the help! Pregnancy is really a tough thing and your body has done it 3 times in almost as many years -no wonder you’re fed up and shattered. Take care of yourself.

  3. Steve P

    You mom’s are special people. You deal with pregnancy, and then being a mom is no great walk in the park either. Don’t know why you do it. :)

    Good luck though. :)

  4. Clare

    You are doing so great. You are more active than I am now not pregnant. Be proud!!!

  5. Laura

    Those quinoa burgers look really good– I was just thinking I want to try another veggie burger soon, maybe we’ll try those this week! You look great– sorry your energy is lower these days. Take it a day at a time, you don’t have to do things when you don’t feel like it… you may find that you’ll get another burst of energy yet! And wow on your workouts, you’re doing awesome!!

  6. chari

    You always amaze me what you get done while you’re pregnant! Hang in there!

    Btw, does your doctor know about your eye issue? Anytime I’ve heard about eye stuff it’s usually high BP :-(

  7. Hey, I think you have every right to complain! I do it and have no excuse!

    And maybe you’ll change your mind about the fourth… you are one of the smallest pregnant ladies ever. I hope I’d be just as lucky.

I love to hear your thoughts, write away!

