Meal planning week #3

Here we are – week 3! Last week went fine with a couple of changes along the way. I added in what I called “HEAB casserole” one of the nights and ended up having it for lunch the rest of the week. It was so great!  More about that below.  I skipped the enchalada bake and instead did salmon and pierogies on Thursday. For this week coming up:

Sunday – rigatoni and portabellos
Monday –  Lentil loaf and mac and cheese or sweet potatoes
Tuesday –  Chicken and HEAB casserole (with tomato soup as broth)
Wednesday- egg casserole + bagels
Thursday – tofu dippers, jaipur veggies (indian from TJs), naan, samosas and brown rice
Friday –  leftovers/wing it

Saturday –  party
Sunday –  crock pot ?

I did well on breakfasts this week just by having it in my head.  I write down ideas and let the kids pick.  What’s for dinner this week?

HEAB casserole:

Ingredients & Recipe courtesy HEAB

  • 1 cup of your favorite grain.   I used quinoa the first time and wheat berries the 2nd time – quinoa was best.
  • 3 c broth for cooking grain  (I used a very watery asparagus soup I had made that no one liked :)
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed (I used a handful the first time and forgot the 2nd time) 
  • 3 to 4 cups (a couple handfuls)  chopped veggies (I used some onion, red and orange peppers, and carrots)
  • 2 TBSP butter
  • 1 clove crushed garlic
  • 2 tomatoes ( I omitted) 
  • 8 oz shredded cheddar (did not measure) 
  • 1/2 cup grated Parm (omitted) 

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 425°F
  • Cook grain according to directions using soup in place of water.  Stir in chickpeas.
  • Chop veggies and place in casserole dish with butter and garlic.  Roast in oven for 30 minutes, stirring once or twice.
  • Remove dish from oven and set oven to 475°F.
  • Cover veggies with cooked grain + chickpeas and top with sliced tomatoes, cheddar, and Parm.  Cook an additional 15 minutes.

This is so versatile! The first time I used quinoa, second time I used wheat berries. This week, I want to use tomato soup for the base/stock.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Meal planning week #3

  1. Yay, so glad you enjoyed the casserole. We’re kind of obsessed with it over here ourselves, and Natalie, you inspire me to be better about meal planning. I know it would help with grocery shopping, etc., but I just can’t seem to get my act together. Dinner time around here is usually throw something in the skillet last minute or just eat cottage cheese straight from the container with a side of chips. Haha – so not kidding!

    P.S. I also REALLY need to make those PB Pumpkins from your last post. Yum!

  2. Kaz

    All looks tasty.

  3. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast

    Mmm, that HEAB casserole sounds yummy, and I love that it uses ingredients I usually have on hand. You can also add your link to Sunday’s post if you want to! Oh- and I’m planning a round up tomorrow of some Halloween ideas, I was going to link to your pb pumpkins. :)

I love to hear your thoughts, write away!

