Soak them up

Last week, this one…

Screenshot 2014-03-10 14.22.30

swam a lap in the pool and treaded water for a minute to get a green band which signifies he can swim by himself in the big pool.  By himself. I felt like throwing up.

This was a big moment. Where did the time go! Last month, that one year old turned 5 years old!

Nick5(LR)_DSC_1010

 

I don’t know where the time has gone but in a blink, he is 5.  Next year he will go to kindergarden.
They always say, “the days are long but the years are short.”    It is so true!  Multiple kids close together and it goes even faster.

I have been thinking this quote all the time!  Stories have been surfacing on face book about small children with cancer and catastrophes that take the life of a child.  All I can do is hug my kids more tightly, take a deep breath when I’m losing patience, and be present in the moment.  I don’t get on to blog much, just when I have something to say.  At least the horrible stories bring lessons for everyone else.

Today’s message is Be Present (my new year’s resolution). Give hugs and kisses. Stop, put your phone down, Soak them up!

IMG_2862

You never know what tomorrow brings… and in another blink we’ll be dropping them off at college.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Soak them up

  1. sisterstosons

    Thank you for this! You are so right. Soak them up, inhale them….make every day count.

  2. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast

    It’s so true… I’ve been thinking this more and more lately, too. Especially after a really sad movie a week or so ago where a little girl about L’s age died of cancer. Heart wrenching!

  3. I’m now not sure the place you are getting your information, however good topic.
    I needs to spend some time studying more or figuring
    out more. Thanks for wonderful information I used to be searching for this info for
    my mission.

  4. Pingback: Wait…is it September yet? | Lil Runner

I love to hear your thoughts, write away!

