Coffee! and coconut milk in the isi whipper

Did you know coffee is a healthy food? Full of antioxidants, it actually does give you a good start to the morning!
Check out Lexi’s “healthy food friday” post from yesterday which is a good read.

IMG_3311

About 6 months after #3 was born, I started drinking coffee! I never drank it in college and was really never into the taste. But at that point, it was survival mode and I needed something to keep me ALIVE during the day.  I started out drinking it a few times a week, hearing that it was addictive and I didn’t want to “NEED” to have my morning coffee and have headaches if I didn’t have it.   I didn’t feel that way at all and a few months later, I started drinking it every morning. In fact, I look forward to my morning coffee but don’t feel like I’m going to go nuts if I don’t have it.

Now let’s talk what my coffee is made of – it’s more of a latte than coffee.
First, the coffee:

My coffee picks:

Caribou Coffee – Amy’s Blend.  $7.99/16 oz

I think I bought this because it was on sale and I liked the color of the packaging. Then I read the story on the back and I was hooked!  This coffee was made as a tribute to Amy who was a Caribou employee and lost her battle with breast cancer at age 33.  This is a great breakfast blend.

Screenshot 2014-03-22 07.50.32

Hawaiian Gold – Kona Coffee  $7.99/16 oz

Found this one at TJ Maxx. Light blend, tastes good. Reminds me of my younger days – honeymoon in Hawaii. I’m not too picky :)

Screenshot 2014-03-22 07.53.56

Newman’s Own Organics – Nell’s Breakfast Blend    $7.99/lb on sale
Again, this was on sale and it tastes along the same lines of the other 2. I can’t do the bold roasts, but

Screenshot 2014-03-22 08.00.25

Now that we have the coffee down, what else goes in the cup? I fill a large cup about 1/2 to 2/3 of the way with the coffee and the rest with unsweetened almond milk. My topper is whipped coconut milk made with vanilla sugar. Yum!!   I stick with one cup a day, most days, and I usually only drink it at home because I am pretty particular about how I take it!  More about the whipped coconut milk….

ISI WHIP

Screenshot 2014-03-22 08.03.44

I first saw the isi whip on Chocolate Covered Katie and was intrigued.  She was making whipped coconut milk.   A huge whip cream fan, but not a fan of the extra chemicals coming out of the can and in the recipe, including carageenan, I wanted to try this out.  I price watched using CamelCamelCamel (thanks to my brother for telling me about this site!!) on Amazon  until it dropped to where I wanted it, and bought it back in December.  Not only do you need the container, but you also need gas chargers which was not clear to me, so I had to order them after it came and wait.  They aren’t cheap either :(

My first trials with coconut milk were a fail. It was too thick and not coming out of the container.  I googled it and saw a few people added melted coconut oil to up the fat content, but that didn’t work any better. Finally, I ended up using unsweetened almond milk to get the can of coconut milk to the consistency of heavy cream, and this worked the best.  I added my vanilla sugar (a mixture of sugar, cornstarch and crushed vanilla beans) to desired sweetness, and voila!  Coconut cream.

IMG_3116

Quick Review of the ISI WHIP

If you want to get non-dairy milk, check out the ISI whip. Be sure to purchase the chargers as well. It is pretty expensive, but a healthier and non-dairy alternative to store bought whipped cream. You can also use heavy cream for delicious fresh whipped cream. It took a few trials to get the coconut cream done right, but now I think I have it down. And I love my addition of vanilla sugar.  When I purchased it, it was around $35. And the chargers are usually $16 for 24. The cream lasts about a week in the container, so I use one charger a week.  Expensive, but if you are an avid whip cream user, something to check out. The stainless steel one looks cool!

And what to eat with your coffee???
We made these this week:  Healthy Maple Glazed Pumpkin Muffins. Delicious!!!

Screenshot 2014-03-22 08.59.42

 

picture credit: a pinch of yum

 

What kind of coffee do you drink? How do you take your coffee?  

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Coffee! and coconut milk in the isi whipper

  1. sisterstosons

    That whip tool is awesome!! I’ve never heard of that. Sending this to my sisters who use coconut milk as well. I am hooked on nespresso – but like you just stick with one per day (maybe two depending on how my kids sleep!)

  2. I like it with coconut milk and/or sugar – and I like trying new kinds. I’m searching for the perfect cup!

I love to hear your thoughts, write away!

